How many amps are too many? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-18-2002, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Keyboard Implanted

How many amps are too many?

I have a basic electric system, I don't run anything extra that is not vital to engine go"ness" except sometimes a sterio. I am looking at getting a quickAir2 and a 5gal tank. they draw 30 amps. Will this hurt my electrical system if I only use the compressor when the jeep is on. I run a Red top battery, I am looking for input, becaue I have no Idea about electrical systems, Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-18-2002, 09:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: How many amps are too many?

My Guess, I doubt it but I'm no expert either. How about installing an Amp and or volt guage at the same time? I know there not the same thing, but it should give you an idea if your battery is about to crap the bed
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-18-2002, 10:35 PM

You will be fine running that at 30 amps if that is all that is on. You should still have reserve left even. Most staock alternators are around 50-60 amps. Yours is a newer vehicle, that info should be in the owners manual if you have it. Just make sure your switch or connections can take the rated current. A cigarette outlet will blow fuses on this-they are usually fused at 20 amps.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 04-19-2002, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
Keyboard Implanted

Thanks for the input. I always like to learn new things about the Jeep and the electrical system is a good place to pick up some info.
On board air here I come.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 04-19-2002, 11:49 AM