Repairing a radiator - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-15-2002, 01:23 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Repairing a radiator

How hard is it to repair a leaking / smashed radiator? It looks like just two rods are cut, and not too bad. I have some soldering experience from a long time ago when I was learning to solder rain gutters. I just don't want to take it to a radiator shop and get charged $$$ if i could do it myself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-15-2002, 08:30 AM

Re: Repairing a radiator

If there are just two tubes leaking you might luck out. If you can get to the ends of the tubes, clean them THOROUGHLY. Bright shiny copper all the way around the opening is your goal. Then you have two choices. If you can join the ends, solder them back together. If not, pinch them off and solder them closed. Losing two tubes won't seriously affect the cooling capacity.

If neither of these is possible, the next route is to unsolder the top and bottom tanks. Then you can identify the bad tubes at each end of the core, and solder them shut there.

Before getting too carried away with a DIY project, I'd take it to a shop and ask what they'd charge to fix it. My guess is that it wouldn't take too long for a pro to do it, so it shouldn't cost very much.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-15-2002, 09:05 AM
Way Outta Control