Looking for a Carb Recommendation - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2002, 11:12 AM Thread Starter

Looking for a Carb Recommendation

Hey,

I'm new to the 258, since I'm a Cherokee Guy. From what I can tell the BBD carb is the one of the worst idea's Jeep ever did (minus Torx blots).

Anyway I just wanted to get a recommendation for a good carb from you guys. I'm looking for something reliable, and tunable would be nice. Also I don't wannt spend a ton of money, so cheap would be good as well. Any help would be cool.

Thanks,

Todd

AOL AIM- Quikag57

Lostsa Mods, Little Time, oh well!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2002, 11:20 AM
Can't Get Enough

Re: Looking for a Carb Recommendation

The Motorcraft 2100/2150 is popular around here. There has been lots of talk about it and TiminMB has a good write up in the archives. I run a 500 cfm 2 barrel Holley on my and I like it. Of course you could scrap the carb idea and go fuel injection - that's my plan anyways.

My girlfriend said if I spent one more dime on my Jeep she would leave. Man I'm going to miss her!
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2002, 12:23 PM

Get the motor rebuilt and see if the carb needs work - I've seen the engine compartment, it looks like a bomb hit a Kuwaiti oil field!

PS - your carb seemed OK when I drove it. Better than my BBD!

Beer...liquid panty remover
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2002, 12:30 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I second the MC 2100/2150

I Jeep, therefore I am.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2002, 01:02 PM Thread Starter

listen AllLockedUP, just kidding, If I'm gonna get the WHOLE engine done, I want the WHOLE thing ya know. The carn seems OK yes, but I would rather Gunseth did the whole 9yrs right off the bat, rather than trouble shooting later. Call me at work.