Drive shaft questions? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-12-2002, 10:42 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Drive shaft questions?

I will start by saying I have never done this before. I just started putting together a 74 CJ5 from junkyard parts. I have been collecting parts for a year. I know it will be along time before I get here but I have been wondering for a while. I will have a lot more questions.

1. I will be using a rear drive shaft from a 76 CJ7.
2. The CJ5 rolling frame has a spring lift on it. I think it is 4inch. I do not know how I would tell at this point for sure. The spring lift was on the rolling frame when I bought it. It has 33 X12.50 tires on it now. When I set the tub on it there is about 12” between the top of the tire and the body side of the wheel well. This is before the body lift and any other weight from gas tank etc…
3. I am going to use 1inch lift polyurethane body mount bushings when I mount the tub.
4. I will be using a T-150, DANA 20, and 304 combinations out of a 76 CJ7.
5. The length of the rear drive shaft I have has a running length of 28” and a collapsed length of 26-1/2”

I can buy a new drive shaft for a CJ5 T-150 8 cylinder, which measures collapsed length of 18-1/4” and a running length of 19-1/2”. With the above lift, information I do not think this be long enough and the cost is $189.95 plus shipping.

I have a good idea how to measure the running length. Once the tub transmission, transfer case, engine etc… is installed I would measure from the axle joint to the transmission joint. Is this correct?

How would I determine the collapsed length? Do I even need to now this?
What is the cost to have a drive shaft shortened? What type of place will do this?