Battery problem/ after HEI conversion - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2002, 11:09 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Battery problem/ after HEI conversion

Help,
Having trouble figuring this one out. I am not a mechanic, but dont mind fixing myself. I have a 76 CJ5 with 304 and installed and converted to a HEI distributor system. Shortly after this install I had my 1 year old red-top optima go bad on me, if I let the Jeep sit overnight the battery would go dead and after a few months of charging it, it would no longer hold a charge, I had a starter go out like overnight and Now I have a 1 week old Yellow top optima and tonight I came home from a drive and found my vent on the top of the battery had overflowed battery acid onto my plug wires and hoses, etc etc. When I did the new HEI setup I took out the ignition modular, coil, and have a direct hot lead from the fuse panel going to my HEI distributor. The engine runs great but something is up with the electrical system.

I am not sure if this is the problem or not. I am open to suggestions. Do I still need a ignition module(I didnt think it was needed) but let me know.

Anyone done one of these conversion with advise or just an electrical guru???????

This also all came about only months after a total body and paint restore job.(meaning dash,fenders,all were off during project.)

Thanks,

76 CJ5 304 "its a JEEP thing, I hope you understand"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-11-2002, 10:41 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Battery problem/ after HEI conversion

Back to the top for anyone who might have advice???

Thanks

76 CJ5 304 "its a JEEP thing, I hope you understand"
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-11-2002, 10:51 AM