Transmission Help!!! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2001, 03:31 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Transmission Help!!!

I have a busted Peugeot transmission and they are WAY too expensive and light duty to get another one. I have a 258 4.2L '89 Wrangler and I was wondering if the AX-15 will bolt on and if it won't I was wondering if the AX-5 or the T-5 would bolt on. (I am a HS Student w/ almost no $$ and my parents never help me w/ anything I own.....) Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated because I am a fairly new jeeper, but I won't be jeepin anymore until I get another tranny so please help!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2001, 05:09 PM
I Might Just Know What I'm Talking About

Re: Transmission Help!!!

I think the ax-15 or ax-5 will fit. But, it depends on the spline count on the output shaft. Your ba-10 came out in both 21 and 23 as did the ax-5. the ax-15,the better choice, was 23. Check the count and also consider picking up a tranny and xfer case both from a donor.http://www.off-road.com/jeep/tech/trans/
Also http://www.advanceadapters.com has a World Class T-4/5 that directly replaces your tranny.

I'm on here so much, I have carpal tunnel reader syndrone.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2001, 07:40 PM

Re: Transmission Help!!!

i had a big long tranny/transfer choice explanation written up for ya but the computer ate it...
so once again,

Using the pages that the above reply mentions, you can change output gear receptor in your transfer case over to 23 spline, and then you will be able to swap in either the T-5 or the AX-15.

ck out: http://www.off-road.com/jeep/tech/xfer/np231.html