Peugeot - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2001, 03:17 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Peugeot

I have a busted Peugeot transmission and they are WAY too expensive and light duty to get another one. I have a 258 4.2L '89 Wrangler and I was wondering if the AX-15 will bolt on and if it won't I was wondering if the AX-5 or the T-5 would bolt on. (I am a HS Student w/ almost no $$ and my parents never help me w/ anything I own.....) Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated because I am a fairly new jeeper, but I won't be jeepin anymore until I get another tranny so please help!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-27-2001, 09:56 PM

Re: Peugeot

AX-15 can work. Get the belhousing with it. Also get the transfer case (sell yours to recover some of the cost) because the transfercase input is different - I think 21 spline on BA-10 to NP231 and 23 spline on AX-15 to NP231.

T-5 can also work. Get the Bellhousing. You will also need a NP231 transfercase (23 spline input) from adifferent YJ (or TJ) as the T-5 was mated to a D300 wqhich is passenger side drop. Then you will need a spacer or something of the like to fit the NP231 to the T-5.

Either way you are way better off than the BA-10.

Using a T-5 would probably be lowest cost as the transmission itself is cheaper. The AX-15 next and BA-10 most $$$ but cost would be kinda close for all three, I think.

Advance Adapters sells the World Class T-5 in a kit that will bolt to your YJ. The kit is not cheap but quality is good.

also - Both the T-4 (same as T-5 only 4spd) and the SR4 (lighter duty than T-4/5 but better than BA-10) will fit in same plase as a T-5 and are cheaper yet.