another T18 question! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Full Sized All discussion of full sized Jeeps: Wagoneer, Full Size Truck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-20-1999, 11:12 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

another T18 question!

I am going to swap a 4 speed granny low transmission into my 67 cj5. I was told to buy a T18 from a full size Jeep. No one can tell me what year donor truck to look for and how to tell if it is a granny low transmission. (I know you can turn input shaft and count revolutions vs. output shaft). Any experts out there who know for sure? Thanks in advance. Ed in Iowa.
47 cj2a
67 cj5

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-20-1999, 07:54 PM

Re: another T18 question!

Im no expert Edd, BUT

Ive looked into this too ( Ive got a Cj5, 1977)
the FSJ T18a will be about 10 inches too long for your CJ5, you know that right>
here is my easy solution, but a Ford T18 also, and swap the input shafts..Or buy a NEW short input shaft for about $200

the later 70s FSJ trucks had granny low T18a's, but I would always verify the shaft turn count before plopping any $$ down...

Ive got a line on a CJ length T18a for $700 just rebuilt if your interested email me
Ive already found one

ozarkjeep
1977 CJ5 looking for T18a and hardtop!
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-28-1999, 03:40 PM