HELP PLEASE!!! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Full Sized All discussion of full sized Jeeps: Wagoneer, Full Size Truck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2001, 11:04 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

HELP PLEASE!!!

Hey all, I just bought an 87 Woody and i got some problems to fix. I am very new to this stuff, some forgive if i sound stupid.
1) I poor water in the radiator, it comes pooring out from the engine somewhere, but i can't see. It is back below the carb, so obviously not the radiator.
2) I don't know how to get it to 4-wheel drive. no manual in truck. there is a switch under dash "2wd-----4wd" and a lever on the right side of the driver seat floor that has "HI N LO" on it. i am sure somebody knows how to shift, but i can't get it to go. The wheel hubs are automatic.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2001, 12:41 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: HELP PLEASE!!!

There should be a 3/4" water line going to the back passenger side top of the manifold... check your hose AND the fitting that screws into the intake manifold... most likely the culprit.

I can't help you out on the 4WD ops cuz I'm not too familiar with the 'newer' GW's ... I'm full-time 4WD with a BW1339 Quadratrac....no shifting, it's always there.

78 Wagoneer

14" total lift
4.89's/Lockers/39.5" Swampers
http://home.earthlink.net/~tjnkk
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2001, 01:17 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Thanks riverbeast. I checked the hose and fitting. it is all secure. the leak is from the rear of the engine somewhere. it is streaming down to the front of a case just aft of the oil pan, out of sight. any other ideas?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2001, 02:06 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Above the heads or below... you should be able to tell that by feeling for the wet/dry line...could be a freeze plug... trying to help you out here... I'll go look on mine... I got room to see where they all are....

78 Wagoneer