AMC and Cryco 360 compatibility - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Full Sized All discussion of full sized Jeeps: Wagoneer, Full Size Truck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-23-2004, 05:18 PM Thread Starter

AMC and Cryco 360 compatibility

I'm a sort of a newbie to the AMC thing and looking for knowledge. The thing is that I got a 360 and a TH-400 in good condition from a J-20 '79 for $115 the other day and I'm planing on droping it into a Volvo. Since I don't know anything about AMC I was wondering if I could use anything from a Dodge 360.

Anyone out there with stacks of knowledge on these engines and how to tune them cheap and efficiently. (NOS is on the hold for now)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-23-2004, 09:22 PM
Journeyman

Re: AMC and Cryco 360 compatibility

Nothing is compatible between AMC and Mopar 360's except the dispacement. I would never waste the effort to put an AMC 360 into anything it didn't bolt into. They are low power, low compression slugs from a bygone era. The few performance parts available are way more expensive than Ford/GM/Mopar. I drive an AMC 360 powered Grand Wagoneer every day and its been treated to a cam, intake, 4-barrel carb MSD ignition TeamRush upgrade and Flowmaster exhaust and it just begins to approach the power produced by a stock similar displacement engine of similar vintage from any of the big 3. However, I respect those who go against the flow and wish you well with your Volvo swap.
I will also point out that my insane cousin put a TPI 350 chevy into like a 73 2-door Volvo (it had a vinyl top if you can believe it) and that thing was an absolut blast!! Major sleeper the 5.0 Mustang weenies didn't know what to think after being blown off by a Volvo,
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-24-2004, 05:53 PM Thread Starter