345 vs 304 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
IH Scout & Trucks Discussion of International Harvester, 4-Wheel Drive Truck and Scout Vehicles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-06-2000, 11:15 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

345 vs 304

I went to the binder bulliten FAQ for info on V8 engine id. I can't seem to locate the id tab that says either 304 or 345. Can anyone give me some help. I'm new to all of this and still learning my way around the motor. I've looked from the top and from the bottom. Even put my head up under the front end as far as it would go and I still can't find the id tab. Do I need to remove anything??? Any halp is greatly appreciated!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-07-2000, 10:16 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: 345 vs 304

Quote from the BB FAQ
"The V-345 is slightly taller to accommodate the slightly longer stroke, but I couldn't tell them apart by just looking. I'd probably believe the lineset ticket over what someone trying to sell a used car said, but the size and engine serial number are stamped on the passenger side of the block. There is a flat pad under the #2 cylinder that has either V-304 or V-345 with the engine serial number on the second line. This pad is just to the rear of the fuel pump and at the same level as the pump mounting bolts. The pad appears to sit on the front corner of the motor mount. That should identify it for sure."

It's very easy to find this tab, with the engine out and heads off that is.

You can still get an eye ball on it though. Once you locate the tab you might need a mirror to see the numbers.

Good luck

If your not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-08-2000, 12:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**