scout info - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
IH Scout & Trucks Discussion of International Harvester, 4-Wheel Drive Truck and Scout Vehicles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-31-2000, 06:37 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

scout info

i'm new to world of scouts and am trying to find out all i can about my '76 scout11. First -- i know scouts aren't known for their mileage, but what can i do to improve mine(345ci w/holley 2 barrel)?? i'm not sure of the differential but everything is stock. any help appreciated

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-02-2000, 02:11 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: scout info

unfortunatly, without a gearing change, the best milage you will get may very well be 11mpg.... Im not positive on this though, its just what seems to be the case....

post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-07-2000, 05:43 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

You might be able to find a after market overdrive unit if you search the internet enough, that way you could keep relatively low gears and still get some gas mileage.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-07-2000, 06:10 PM

Which transmission? 3spd 727 auto, 3spd stick, wide-box 4spd, close box 4spd? What size tires? Soft-top? Lift?

What kind of mileage are you getting right now that makes you want to get more? If you're doing better than 15mpg, just leave it be. If it's down around 10, you might be able to improve it.

A good tune-up is a good place to start. Use the Autolite 85 plugs.

Make sure the 2bbl is in proper working condition. Have the carb rebuilt, and have it tuned - make sure the accelerator pump and choke are both working just right (just enough acc pump, but not too much). Be sure it's jetted correctly.

Or.. better yet, instead of dealing with the 2bbl any longer, step up to a Holley 2D Digital ProJection fuel injection system with closed-loop. That would be the best solution for keeping the carb "in-tune"