looking at a '74 scout in colorado - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
IH Scout & Trucks Discussion of International Harvester, 4-Wheel Drive Truck and Scout Vehicles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-23-2003, 10:20 PM
ShinySideUp

looking at a \'74 scout in colorado

Hey all, I'm new to cornbinders (a jeep and S-10 guy up until now), but there's one for sale up the street and I'm interested. I was hoping to get some opinions from poeople who know internationals. It's a 74 Scout with the 345 V-8 and (I think) a t-18 manual 4 speed. The engine and tranny really seem to be in good working order, although there is oil at hte front and back of the motor. THe body is in fair condition, with the usual amount of work you'd expect on a 30 year old truck. The guy is asking $3500, probably go down to $3000, is this worth it? Also, is it possible to quiet these trucks down a bit? I know its an old farm truck, but would a better muffler, a headliner and maybe a carpet kit quiet this thing down? It sounds like a WWII troop transport at highway speeds? One last question; is it feasible to put an overdrive in? It is a 4-speed, but its really screaming at 65, and this needs to be a daily driver on the highway. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

~Mark
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-13-2004, 05:11 PM
Keith

Re: looking at a \'74 scout in colorado

I am also looking for a Scout in Colorado, and will share what I think I have learned. Why a Scout when they are so derided by the Jeepers? How about fully boxed frames, Dana 44s, and V8 power - works for me.

Apparently there are both close and wide ratio manual transmissions for this truck, although most of the Scouts I see for sale have an auto trans. I would be leary of too much mechanical road noise (got oil in that t-case??). '77 to '80s got the front disc brakes - a good trail rig feature in my book.