new to Chevy - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 12:34 PM
PsychoTurtle

new to Chevy

Hello, i am new to this part of the board and wanted to make sur i am in the right area. I recently recieved my Grand fathers 78 Chevy Big 10 350 2WD. Was looking of basic information since was sitting in garage for 8 years after he passed away. was able to replace fuel pump and get started and drove from Lubbock to Austin with only blowing the radiator. Luckily it was in Cisco and had replaced with rebuilt for $80. Got to Austin and had to again replace radiator but with new and correct size and now works great. other parts replaced were u joints and bearing (were about to fall apart and lots of vibration) and now new MSD distibutor. Probbaly need to replace carborator, as accelorator plate was sticking a bit. Gandfather also setup to to use propane, but have not tried yet as wanted to make sure it was safe. This also dried out most seals on carb. Any other ideas, or helpfull hints?

Thanks ahead of time,
Michael
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 04:54 PM

Re: new to Chevy

I have looked into a propane conversion and am most likely going to do it. When i do it i am going to use a holley throttle body to better handle the propane. You are in the right part of the board, although this is geared to 4 wheelers, were gald to have you and welcome aboard!
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 11:18 AM
PsychoTurtle