body lift - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-22-2004, 11:36 PM
mzeuschner

body lift

so i bought this 85 silverado and i got a trailmaster 3 in body lift. What i was wondering is im thinking this should only take a few hours just unbolt it and put in the blocks . or is there anything i need to know like is anythinig goin to need to be modified to make this work or is this a pretty cut and dry procedure?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-23-2004, 02:24 AM

Re: body lift

You might have to modify your sreering betweenthe colum and your steering box and maby even your shift linkage if you have a automatic but other than that you should be fine you will just have to see it should not be that hard.
Good luck
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-24-2004, 12:45 PM
David_Dean

Re: body lift

I just finished putting a 3" body lift on an 83 K5 Blazer. It wasn't too hard but there is a few things to consider. Mine is a southern truck and therefore has VERY little rust. I was fortunate that all the body mount bolts came out with no problems. Northern trucks tend to have a lot of rust which makes removing the bolts quite a task.

If you have a trailer hitch mounted you may have to take that off to get access to the two rear most mounts. It depends on the type of hitch that you have. The portion of these mounts that are on the under side of the frame are held in place with brackets. If you are going to reuse the old body mounts this is no problem. If you are replacing the old rubber mounts (which I recommend) you'll have to remove the rear bumper and drop the rear portion of the gas tank to get to these mounts. Once again rusted bolts will make this hard. Use a lot of penetrating oil.