1983 gmc high sierra??????? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 06:59 PM
rustyolred27

1983 gmc high sierra???????

let me start this off by saying i am new to the realm of the general. i have been a ford fan all of my life. i started looking for a truck to build into a decent mud runner/daily driver. i have came across a 1983 gmc high sierra 1500 4x4. the truck has a 250 inline six. is this engine as good as my 300 straight six ford engine? it has a 4 spd manual trand with grany low? which trand is this? what x-fer case should this truck have? what front and rear axles should this truck have? i really like this truck and am looking forward to this purchase. oh yeah btw what does high sierra mean? is it like a trim package or something?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 07:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: 1983 gmc high sierra???????

Not a clue on the 250-I6. It's a Saginaw/Muncie model SM-465 transmission. A New Process Gear Model NP208 Transfer Case. Two GM Corporate 10 Bolt Axles (front and rear). Pretty much all of that is swappable so it may not have that, but that is the stock configuaration. Oh, and yes High Sierra is a trim package.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 08:04 PM
Carpal \'Tunnel

Unless you're getting a real deal on it (like $700 or less with a great body) don't buy it. That motor is one of GM's worst inline 6s. You'd end up swapping it right away unless you're used to driving underpowered vehicles.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 08:07 PM
87sm465np208

damn, a 250 inline 6 with a sm465, and 4 WHEEL DRIVE, id buy it in a second. because it will run forever, and is easy to work on
post #5 of (permalink) Old 09-22-2003, 10:11 PM