rusty floor - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 12:05 PM
tool

rusty floor

I'm closer than I have ever been to welding in the new floor pans into my 86 blazer. Here's the question.. I am replaceing the area just behind where the seats bolt to the floor (including where the seat mounts to the floor). The new piece of floor which I ordered from LMC is an exact replica. Do I fully remove the old rotted floor which does have "some" good metal in a few areas and weld the new floor in to the surronding metal, or do i plate the old floor with the new floor, and weld to it? How is this typically done? I'm extremely new to the world of rust repair! Any help is appreciated!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 12:14 PM

Re: rusty floor

im not sure if this is right or not, but i the way i see it and the way i did it, you have the entire new panel, why not put the whole thing in. ya know, you paid for it all, why use old. that and the old metal can have cancer in it and you just not see it yet.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 02:11 PM
tool

yeah I suppose that is a good point. I'm a little worried that if I remove what's left of the old floor, and weld in the new it might night be as strong as before. I guess I don't really understand the strength of a good weld just yet =) thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 03:36 PM

no problem, when you cut out the old floor, there are cross memmbers that will support the floor so as long as you dont cut those you should be fine
post #5 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 04:12 PM
Resurrection_Joe

Drey!? A good point!? [img]images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Yeah, might as well have as much new metal as possible...
post #6 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 05:21 PM
tool