TH700R4 TV cable question - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-28-2002, 09:42 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

TH700R4 TV cable question

Ok, my TH700R4 (Who makes those btw?) shifts very early. I even doubt if the engine gets past 1500RPM's. I heard the TV cable (where or whatever that is) needs adjustment. Does anybody know where I can find info on this? Would be great.

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-28-2002, 02:29 PM
Mud in my Veins

Re: TH700R4 TV cable question

Turbo Hydromatic, same as the TH350, TH400, etc. Now what their current name is...................[img]images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

If this is your 88 then you should have a TBI SBC hooked to that 700R4. I'm not an expert on it, and I had trouble doing it, had to get a friend's help, but the TV cable runs from the d-side of the throttle body back to the brace looking thing on the d-side of the rear of the intake. From there it runs back down the bellhousing and tranny. Quite how you adjust it I can't remember, but it's pretty simple once you figure it out. I'm basically mechanically inept, so it puzzled me, but my buddy who's a mechanic (jbsjunk on here) fixed it in like 2 tries and under 5 minutes. Including test drives.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-28-2002, 10:28 PM