Bushing questions - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-25-2002, 08:20 AM
76chevy350

Bushing questions

I keep seeing bushing kits in summit and all the other catalogs that I look through, and what I want to know is what do they really do for you? I know that they all say that they improve handling, but is it that noticable? What type of bushings are best, plain rubber, poly, the graphite-impregnated stuff . . . I'm just trying to figure out what my next purchase is going to be for the truck.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-25-2002, 11:42 AM
Mud in my Veins

Re: Bushing questions

Okay, I'm not an expert, but the trend I've seen is the poly stuff is good for body mounts, engine and tranny mounts, etc. For suspension on an offroad truck, rubber is better since it has more give and if you tear it up, it's cheap to replace. Greaseable bolts help a lot with either type of bushing.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-25-2002, 12:09 PM

I have energy suspension bushings on my k10 and they did make a drastic difference in the way the truck handled. Alot less body roll and a much firmer feel but not a harsh ride. I only installed them on the front end(springs,swaybar)since that was the only bushings that were giving me problems, but I have the rest of the masterkit waiting to be installed. I have also used the an energy suspension tranny mount on my wagoneer and am very pleased with the results i got from it. They hold up alot better than rubber bushings if your vehicle leaks oil or fluid.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 10-25-2002, 12:34 PM
Carpal \'Tunnel