t-case removal - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-21-2002, 07:19 PM
tool

t-case removal

so here it is.. I need to remove my np208 transfer case out of my 86 chevy blazer. I have never done anything like this before. I am somewhat mechanically inclined, however I'm far from being a pro. Plus things like transfer case,and drivetrain removal are completely foreign to me! I'm removing it to get it rebuilt. Any tips? Is this easy? Or should I pay the extra to have it installed and uninstalled? Money is sorta tight, so If I could manage this, that would be terrific [img]images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-21-2002, 07:44 PM

Re: t-case removal

I dunno if there's anything special about the 208 but I would imagine the job would go something like this:
-remove d-shafts
-disconnect shift linkages as necassary
-support with device
-unbolt from transmission adapter
-pull the case towards the rear of the truck to clear the t-case input shaft (if your careful you might be able to save the oil seal in the adapter, but you're better off replacing it anyways.
-lower the case and rebuild

Should not be a problem at all to do. Not something you want to pay a shop to do; do it yourself and you might save enough to pay for most of the rebuild.

Good luck.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-21-2002, 08:20 PM

also 2 bolts on the crossmember
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 10-21-2002, 10:04 PM
87sm465np208

draining the t-case will reduce some weight, and drey you left out the part about removeing the 4 skid plate bolts and nuts.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 10-21-2002, 10:23 PM

you dont HAVE to take them out, might actaully be easier not too...i wouldnt know though
post #6 of (permalink) Old 10-22-2002, 07:10 AM