Will my lift match my tires? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-30-2002, 08:33 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Will my lift match my tires?

I'm just about ready to lift my '83 K-5, and I'm looking into the all new Wrangler MT/R's. What siz should I get if I'm lifting the beast 3 inches? And also, what are someother tires i might want to look into? I'd prefere cheaper ones as I'm a high school student with a summer job!

Thanks
Adam
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-30-2002, 09:03 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Will my lift match my tires?

For a 3 inch lift you can run alot of different tire sizes. So I personally go for 33's, fill out a wheel well quite nicely. For width you have to consider what kinds of driving you are going to be doing. is the truck just for off-roading? if so slap some mudders on there that aren't too wide, unless you are attempting to float on top of everything then wider tires...which i have yet to see work. If you are going to be driving on the road mostly but still want to off-road look at some All-Terrains. Also if you have bad winter weather where you are, don't want to go too wide. Unless of course you have winter rims. Then there are nitwits like me, running 33x12.5's year round (sliding is fun). For over size tires though figure about 150 bucks a tire, depending on brand and actual size of course. I claim no responsibility if you look at Mickey Thompson's though and think i am nuts for saying 150 per tire, after all them puppies are expensive. Of course cost of mounting and balancing depends on the shop you go through.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-01-2002, 04:32 AM