Not happy with my exhaust - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-25-2002, 05:59 PM
deepnsteeP

Not happy with my exhaust

Alright........I've been running with this setup for almost two years now and I'm getting a little tired of the loss in low end that I'm experiencing. I've got a new Goodwrench 350 in my '80 GMC. I put on Tri-Y headers and 2.5" true dual exhaust with glass packs. I love the rumble she makes.....but I lose just too much low end with it like that. I need some opinions on what to do here. I want to do one of two different things with it. I was thinking of having an "H" pipe put in or taking out the drivers side dual and just running single again like stock. Can't decide on which would work better. I'm kinda leanin towards the single right now cause it did run pretty good before I put in the new motor and the Edelbrock carb and manifold on that. Would a 2.5" single be a little too much restriction like that or not???? I guess one question on the "H" pipe too if I decide to do that......where is the best place to put that in??? ie....how far from the engine???

I guess I've got one more thing to ask while I'm typing away here.........I'm running 3.42 gears in it and I'm really starting to hate them. Anybody got a set of 3.73 ring and pinion for a 10.5" 14 bolt gm rear and a Dana 44 for the same ratio??? Or......does anyone know of a good place to get 'em??? I called around for shops to get the parts and put them in and it would be about $1500 for the cheapest place here all the way up to $3k at the Chevy dealer.
Any help would be apreciated

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-25-2002, 06:02 PM

Re: Not happy with my exhaust

<font face="Times New Roman">