Is this truck a good deal? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-02-2002, 10:46 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Is this truck a good deal?

hey guys, i'm a newbie to this board. been lurking for a couple weeks and you guys really have your act ogether, you know a lot of stuff. i'm super inot wheeling and go whenever i get some time and am in the mood.

my question is: i saw in the auto trader a add for a truck:

1983 Chev Suburban 4x4 350 auto, new susp lift, paint, 6 40" michelins, new MVI, very good condition, $5,200.
ph. xxx-xxxx

i had a good pic, and the truck looke din good shape, not beat up. it looked like a 6 inch susp kit. and i'm know the tires were boggers (i could recognize the tread pattern)i think about 38". no winch that i could see, no extra lights that i could see, etc.

this would be a SWEET truck i think for where i live, i don't do rockcrawling, just driving down power line trailer and those are 150' wide at the narrowest.

my plans would be put in a 454. proper gears (if it doesn't have em. i'm thinkign 5.13's??? how's that sound?) a dana 60 front, 14 bolt rear. locking diff in at least the rear, front once i get some money, more lights, winch, brushguard, cb, etc. i don't have the money to buy it right now. judging from the rims they looked to be one ton axles. a downside would be the paint, i love beaters, but even i would fell bad scratching up nice paint. [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]

i'm back and forth on manual vs. auto. manuals are cool for gear picking and simplicty and i just like shifting, but autos are better in the mud and on slopes and stuff. my dad's atv is a clutch less auto. i let off the gas, manually shift and get back on the gas. no clutch to depress. it's basically a manually shifted auto. that would be sweet, but i've done cool clutch stuff too.