engine test/run stand thing - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard SFA Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized Solid Front Axle Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-13-2002, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Carpal \'Tunnel

engine test/run stand thing

OK, I've been cleaning out and rewiring some stuff in the basement and my mind was wandering. OK, it always wanders.

But anyway, I was thinking about a run/test stand and how to go about building one. I was thinking about one because I'm a poor college student (poor enough where it looks like I don't have enough money to go to college this summer) so as I build a motor it'll be in pieces as I get the money. And I think a run/test stand will be the way to go since after I put it together I have to save my money to buy something to put it in. Besides, it'd be cool to break the motor in on the stand.

Have any of you built such a thing? Do any of you have any sources of information on such a thing?

I have some ideas but anyway..

I found one on eBay:
<a target="_blank" href=http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/ebayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;item=1820989392&amp;r=0 &amp;t=0>http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/ebayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;item=1820989392&amp;r=0 &amp;t=0</a>

but it doesn't seem so great. For one thing, I need some sort of mufflers because my neighbors get upset at me for my quad, they wouldn't like a SBC running at three grand with open headers with some piping.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-14-2002, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Carpal \'Tunnel

Re: engine test/run stand thing

I'll take that as a "no".

At least I got a clean basement out of it.

-Brian
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-14-2002, 09:51 AM