New to 4x4ing, Have so many questions! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-21-2001, 11:54 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

New to 4x4ing, Have so many questions!

Hey guys,

I'm new to the word of 4 wheelin' and have a bunch of questions:

I just bought a stock 85GMC 3/4 Tonne Pickup. It's got a 350HD on dual fuel (propane/gas). The rear axle is a 14bolt with the big drums and 8 lugs, I'm unsure of what's upfront. 3sp auto, tow package.

Question 1) I was thinking of tires in the 36" range. What lift would you reccomend for this size tire?

Question 2) From what little I've heard, my stock 14 bolt rear axle should be fine. What front axle will I need? What's the most likely axle for me to have up there?

Question 3) Are there any special considerations for 4x4ing on propane?

Question 4) Tell me about the 14bolt, What's the difference between Semi Floater and Full floater? Are these limited slip?

Question 5) Is there an easy way for me to identify what front axle I have?

Question 6) I believe the tow package means that I have an axle gearing in the 3.90 - 4:10 area. Will I need to change this gearing to run 36" tires? It's just a bush truck, won't be used for much haulin'

Well, this outa get me started. Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-21-2001, 12:34 PM

Re: New to 4x4ing, Have so many questions!

Q1= 6" lift

Q2= Your rear is fine (I can't believe I just said that[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/blush.gif[/img]) your front will probably be OK for quite awhile sort of depends on how hard you wheel it[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

Q3= ??? I don't know of any???

Q4= Semi floater has one set of bearings, the wheel turns on it, and it carries the weight of the truck.