Stupid Question - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-18-2001, 11:05 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Stupid Question

I'm new to trucks and all, and was wondering what the term "rat" meant, like recently I heard some one talking about building a "rat" 454 BB. Whats is it?

Too many toys, not enough time or money!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-18-2001, 11:20 AM

Re: Stupid Question

I'm not sure where the terminology comes from but a rat is a Big Block chevrolet engine (any BB even if it isn't built up), and a mouse engine is a small block chevy(also any SB). I forget where I saw it but there was an article a while back titled "The mouse that roared" And another more recently in fourwheeler titled "Mail order mice". On HPTV you'll hear them say rat engine 10 timea a show. Sorry for the rambling, I just wanted to give a few references to (rat/mouse) being used.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-18-2001, 12:27 PM

<font face="Comic Sans MS">I believe the GM marketing reps (or some magazine people) started referring to the small block GM engine as the Mouse. They wanted to use the cartoon Mighty Mouse for it, but that didn't go over so it was just the mouse. The big block, since it's bigger and more powerful than the mouse then adopted the nickname the rat since rats are also bigger and more powerful than a mouse... That's the explanation I've always heard and went by...</font>

Tim "Sandman"

ORC Land Use columnist:
My May Column
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 08-18-2001, 12:58 PM
Veteran

Yeah, Rat motors are usually refered to as built up BBC's (Big Block Chevy's). There is also a term "Mountain Motor" and that is usually 520+cubes all the way up to almost 800CI which is about the largest BBC V8 that can be built.