Newbie to Blazers, Best All Around? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-30-2000, 07:25 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Newbie to Blazers, Best All Around?

Hello,
I am fairly new to cars in general, but I am very interested in a 4x4 Chevy blazer or Jimmy, Can someone tell me the best all around model year (preferably fuel injected) to look into considering factors like fuel economy, durability, etc etc, i really dont care, I would get a 79 jimmy but parents are lame and want me to get something newer like late 80's.
Well thanks Ya'll

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-30-2000, 08:03 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Newbie to Blazers, Best All Around?

Well, it's a toss up. Earlier blazers were heavier duty, and newer ones were more "refined". The good thing is that you can swap just about anything. So, you could get the 79 with the better tranny and rear axle and just adapt a TBI set-up on to it, but, that is a lot of work. I'd suggest finding an 86 or newer jimmy which would give you a fuel injected engine, OD tranny, more power, and better transfer case reduction. If your gonna put bigger tires and a lift on it, I'd say looking into upgrading the rear 10-bolt axle before one of your wheels attempts to pass you one day. One more thing, fill out your profile!!!

Keith
<font color=green>82 cj-7 laredo</font color=green>
<font color=red>89/91 cr 125</font color=red>

"Vise grips and duct tape, the tools of life."
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-30-2000, 09:14 PM
**DONOTDELETE**