Suburban - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-25-2000, 02:59 PM Thread Starter

Suburban

I'm new to this page and looking for a bit of help.
I'm getting ready to purchase a suburban (used). I want to get a pre 92. first off, of that body style which year is best? I'm seriously considering diesel, any big downfalls besides slow acceleration? Do they make suspension kits for 2wd? ....recommended transmission cooler?? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-25-2000, 03:25 PM

Re: Suburban

87 to 91, very little changed! The entire drivetrain is basically the same, they have TBI fuel injection! and more horsepower than previous years.
The 87 & 88 grill has the over/under headlights, and the 89-91 are side by side. The interior has a couple small differences.
A couple notes about 89-91 Chevys, the chrome they used on the grill tends to bubble and peel.
Also the 89-91 had problems with the primer and their paint tends to flake off, (sometimes really badly[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/frown.gif[/img]).
So these would be two things to look for when looking at those years.
As far as lift kits, I believe it is much more expensive to lift the 2wd? And you are better off with a 4X4 anyway![img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
As far as Diesel's , I have no idea, I have never had one, or wanted one.[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Tranny cooler, I recommend the Maxi-kool by Imperial, you can get the entire kit at checker auto for $40-$50.
Good Luck & Happy Hunting [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Scooby Dooby Doo !!!
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-25-2000, 05:18 PM
**DONOTDELETE**