Reliability of 4.3 L V6 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-22-2000, 10:00 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Reliability of 4.3 L V6

Hi. I just traded in my 85 Ramcharger with a 318 for a 98 Chevy Cheyenne with a 4.3 L. The Ramcharger had over 242000 miles on it and was still going strong, with no major engine repairs. How long can I expect the V6 to last? Are there any major problems that need to be addressed for it? I'm new to Chevy; and honestly, I don't know that much about their engines. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-22-2000, 10:15 PM
Veteran

Re: Reliability of 4.3 L V6

my dad had a 92 S10 Blazer with a 4.3L and it had almost 200K on it when he sold it and it lived its whole live up to that time with out any engine problems and went threw a starter and 2 alternators. Take care of it, do regular oil changes and it should last you well over 200K. As for Chevy/GM engines in particular there great. I bought a 90 2wd truck with a 305 in it just over a month ago and its has almost 285,000 miles (486 KMS) on it and its still running strong. I bought it off the original owner as a trade in at the dealership where he bought it new and had ever single service check done on it there. I know many guys with 350's that are pussing 300K and just starting to burn oil and a cab driver I know in town has a 305 in his caprice and he has 450 miles on it with out a problem ( he changes his oil weekly)

All in all there a great engine and it should keep you going for a long time to come.

Oh yeah....welcome to Chevy and GM!!!! the best Trucks on the Market!!!![img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Good luck...Ryan

post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-23-2000, 12:10 AM
**DONOTDELETE**