Stall Converter - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-28-2000, 12:30 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Stall Converter

Just what exactly is a stall converter? [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/blush.gif[/img] I know its a stupid question, just never really thought about it before, I know I have alot of questions, but Im new to the scene (about a year), not just off-roading, but everything dealing with cars, please bear with me! Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-28-2000, 12:57 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Stall Converter

I will try to explain tis simplely. Stall speed is the RPM tha your engine flashes to when you stomp the throttle from a standing start, if you don't spin your tires. It will vary with the amount of power an engine puts out. Stall speed is not the RPM you can bring your engine upto aganst your brakes, but if you have a tranny brake , you can find out what your stall speed ids easally. Just engage the trans brake, stomp the throttle and read the highest RPM your engine goes to. I hope that was simple.

Thanks, Ray

post #3 of (permalink) Old 07-28-2000, 01:24 PM

WHAT???[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] Damn, now I bet he is really confused! Fyrball Is correct, but this may help you out a little more.
In the simplest terms, the "Torque Converter" is also sometimes referred to as a "Stall Converter" The two terms are interchangeable.
Now what it does is basically delivers the torque, or power, from the engine to the transmission (Automatic trannys ONLY) "Stall" refers to, at what RPMS the engine will reach before the tranny is fully engaged (remember I am trying to keep this as simple as possible)