(HELP) rusted out floor board corners - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-27-2000, 11:42 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

(HELP) rusted out floor board corners

Need your opinion on replacing floor board corners that are rusted out on my 72 blazer. Rust on driver and passenger sides where floor and side come together. I have no body work experience but willing to learn. On a scale from one to ten what would you guys rate it on difficulty. Thanks [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-28-2000, 08:05 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: (HELP) rusted out floor board corners

Having just replaced my drivers side floor and cab support, I can tell you that it wasn't very hard, just time consuming. Not wanting to ruin my new panels I followed the old rule of "measure twice, and cut once". I started by pulling out the carpet and seat then laying the new panel in place and scribed it all along the edge so that I would have the outline of the new panel and could use it as a guide to cut the floor. Then I cut out all the rust which was more extensive than I thought. (It always is!) Then I removed the floor support and bolted the new one in place. Then I welded it. I had to make a few alterations to the floor pan, but after I was satisfied with the way it fit I welded it too. It took me about 12 hours mostly because I chose to exercise caution and I was low on beer.[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img][img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]

77 GMC Jimmy aka the Greyghost
UNLIMITED SLIPS in both ends
"Went through it's first three legs pretty quick. Thank God for the last one."
post #3 of (permalink) Old 07-28-2000, 08:05 AM
**DONOTDELETE**