Best Performance Upgrades? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-05-2003, 10:18 AM
mfornes

Best Performance Upgrades?

I am new to the Chevy world. I have owned Jeeps and decided i was tired of the bumpy ride and the fact that i am going to be spending 3 winters in Chicago wasnt a turn on with a soft top.
I just purchased a used '97 Chevy Z71. And i love it. What i need help with is upgrades. I am wondering what would be the best performance upgrades that can do to the engine. i am trying to keep each upgrade under $300 for now. i have a wife that swears i cannot leave anything alone. hehe. I have a few upgrades in mind but want to see what everyone else out there does to there trucks.
Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-05-2003, 11:45 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: Best Performance Upgrades?

man I realy couldnt telll you what to do. engine bolt ones arent worth crud and tearing that thing down and rebuilding is gona take lots of work money and time.

but since your wanting to do something Id recomend a good flowing singe 3" exhaust from the catalytic converter back, and maybe good set of headers. other than that your probly wastn your money.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-05-2003, 12:35 PM

intake and exhaust are a good start. i like a single 3" exhaust. for intake, don't buy an airraid or other overpriced intake system. i say make your own, but, if you wanna blow money, then, that's your deal [img]images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]

what else do you want to do with your truck? umm, oh yeah, a good thing to add would be an auxillary tranny cooler. might as well start helping it now.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 10-05-2003, 04:40 PM
Carpal \'Tunnel

Three things: