Primer? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Standard IFS Trucks & SUV's All discussion of full sized IFS Trucks, SUV's to include Suburban

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2002, 12:45 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Primer?

I want to sand my truck down to metal and primer it. How much would this cost and how long would it take? I have a sandblaster and can get palm sanders. Any pointers would help im not really experienced in this area. Also some people tell me if I leave my truck primered it will rust quick. Is this true?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2002, 12:57 PM

Re: Primer?

Well, are you goning to use true automotive primer that you have to spray on with a hvlp gun? Or just aeorsol primer? Big price difference there. Also, I wouldn't sand blast a truck body, if you hold over one area for a second too long you'll but a hole or low spot in it. If you can do it, I would media blast it or glass bead blast it. That won't hurt the glass windows like sand blasting will either.

Jason
Big Willy Style
http://www.industrialoffroad.com

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2002, 12:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Well i have an air compressor and would want to spray the primer on with that but can i use crushed glass or walnuts in a sand blaster?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2002, 01:08 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I would NOT sandnlast it either!
You can easly warp the metal!
It will not rust if you use some sealer.
And if anything is fiberglass on you truck im shure you know not to sand blast that. Then again the only thing on my truck that is fiber glass is the bed.

94 GMC ?lift?
post #5 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2002, 01:10 PM
**DONOTDELETE**