bumper - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2001, 09:27 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

bumper

I am new to the offroad scene I am playing with a 88 s-10 I was gonnna give it a 3 inch body lift. my question is how will the front and rear bumpers be affected, are there brackets for them, or will the stay in there stock form??

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2001, 10:04 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: bumper

Well, I knoow your bumpers are gpoint to be lower (there connected to the frame) look at your radiatator mount, i think its in the front clip, so you might be good there, but check for shure. you can make bumper relocation brackets easy enough, just bet some 1/8 in or if you tow 1/4in flat stock and fab away!!

Tim

88 blazer
Like A Rock
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2001, 10:59 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Both bumpers will be low because they attatch to the frame. I helped lift a 91 and for the front bumper we ground off the bumper mounts from the frame, raised them, got everything in line, and rewelded them. The rear will require fabricating some brackets to raise the bumper. I read on here that someone mentioned filling in the gap with something like aluminum diamond plate ( like aluminum tool boxes are made of ). I dont know what it would look like but if you done a good job I am sure it would look fine.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2001, 06:23 PM

From what I've seen a lot of kits don't come with relocation brackets but they are available for body lift kits. They are just usually pieces of square tubing with a hole in them for a bolt. It will merely raise your bumper to meet with the body.

J.R. [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img]

http://members.nbci.com/desertride/index.htm
post #5 of (permalink) Old 06-11-2001, 11:42 PM
**DONOTDELETE**