Power up 96 4.3L Vortek - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-19-2000, 05:27 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Power up 96 4.3L Vortek

Looking to boost my Blazer. I've dropped a K n' N in airbox, the rest is stock.
I get mixed reviews from people. Some say...don't touch, this engine doesn't like change. Others, suggest the whole 9-yards. Some say, use 87 octane...others say 92 or better.
I'm new at this performance stuff and don't really know where to start. All I know is that it'll cost me some money and I don't want to waste it on gizmos that will harm my engine.

Help!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-19-2000, 06:13 PM

Re: Power up 96 4.3L Vortek

You need to use the octane of fuel that lets the engine run but not ping or detonate/spark knock. If it runs without ping with 87 octane there's no reason to switch... [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

There might be a restriction in the airbox system, you can pull it out and look at it, see if there are any baffles inside it, if there are, you can remove them to let more air through it, be careful not to mess with sensors...

Things like the Tornado or other things that make air in the intake turbulent are actually hindering you since smoothly flowing air can theoretically carry more fuel than turbulent air, and smoothly flowing air would seem to flow faster.

Any gimmick talking about magnets and fuel lines is worthless and should be ignored...

Other than that I can't add any personal experience with this engine, as I don't have one of them... [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

Tim
ORC Land Use columnist
My August article on ORC

http://www.off-road.com/land
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-19-2000, 06:19 PM