4.3 Performance - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2000, 03:54 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

4.3 Performance

Hey guys Chris
this coming winter im going to rebuild my trusted 4.3 Its getting a little tired. I plan on doing the following just a regular rebuild but bore it over .030 i need some new ideas its a 94 with TBI Im told that this is the same motor in the 93. I called about a head job and he asked if i just wanted a regular rebuild or if i wanted the ports polished and ported. I do know thinggs about engines but some things im still learning on. let me know guys the truck will be for mostly daily driving with trail rides.

Chris

Any body see the sticker that Says" eating dodges ****tin fords??

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-07-2000, 11:02 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: 4.3 Performance

I've heard that swapping on 95UP Vortech heads will net you 15HP up to around 190HP versus 160-175 for the TBI ones. It also seems the Vortech heads have better valve seals. Unless you plan on installing headers and or a free-flow exhaust, a port&polish probably won't be worth the money. The .030 overbore should increase your power a little. I would suggest getting your rotating assembly(rods,crank,pistons)balanced to add to the dependability. I'm not sure how much your machine shop is charging to do your heads, but look into the Vortech ones at least. Whatever you decide, good luck.
A.S.
1989 S10 4x4 355

post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-07-2000, 11:52 PM
Addict