Fluid Leak - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2000, 03:21 PM Thread Starter

Fluid Leak

I have noticed some fluid collecting and dripping below my transmission(manual). I can't quite tell where it is originating though. I pulled off the skid plate and seems to be collecting right below what looks like a drain plug but it isn't coming from the plug. I am by no means a master mechanic and wasn't sure if this is coming from the tranny and if so is there a some where I can check the fluids in the tranny. As I stated before it is a manual tranny and I am not sure how I can check this. It looks like it is coming from the side opposite the driveshafts(if the helps). Any info would be appreciated because I would hate to have to take it to the dealership since my warranty is up.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-06-2000, 07:02 PM Thread Starter

Re: Fluid Leak

Somebody at least humor me with something please. I'm concerned at what this could be.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-06-2000, 11:49 PM

You can check your manual transmission fluid though a plug on the side. Not sure which side it would be on your model truck. There will be 2 plugs (on mine they have a square head for the fasteners so you can get a wrench on it and loosten it, not sure how yours is). The top one is the one you use to check it, and the bottom one is the one that you would use to drain your fluid if you were going to change it. Sorry that's not any more help...

Tim
ORC Land Use columnist
My August article on ORC

http://www.off-road.com/land
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-07-2000, 04:32 PM
**DONOTDELETE**