Help with a 1999 Jimmmy - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-14-2009, 03:06 PM Thread Starter

Help with a 1999 Jimmmy

Hi, i just bought a '99 Jimmy SLE and was wondering what the biggest tire i could fit on it stock? maybe a 31? Also i've been looking around and was wondering if anybody had any suggestions on how i could go about starting to lift this thing up a couple inches, but nothing major since it will mainly be a daily driver. Also, what other modifications should i be looking into, im still kinda new to all this

Last edited by rmdtopskier; 07-14-2009 at 03:09 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-15-2009, 10:32 PM
Journeyman

Thumbs up Jimmy Help

It depends, what are we talking about here....2 or 4 wheel drive?. If it's a 2 wheel drive you can fit up to a 29" tire, a 4x4 can easily fit a 30"; you can add an inch (2 wheel drive 30"-4 wheel drive 31") if you pound on the wheelwheels with a big hammer (this is keeping the stock 15" wheels). If it's primarily going to be street driven you could add a 2" or 3" body lift which will not affect anything, however, it still allows you to upgrade your tire size for the increased stance. Additions would be BF Goodrich tires all terrain for street driving, a throttle body spacer (airaid), intake system (aem), headers and exhaust (jba), mass airflow sensor (granatelli motorsports) this will give you an increase in horsepower and torque while still giving good fuel economy (you may gain some mileage).
post #3 of (permalink) Old 07-17-2009, 03:05 PM Thread Starter

yea, its 4-wheel drive, and thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 07-17-2009, 07:00 PM
Journeyman

Thumbs up Suspension Lift Options