2005 GMC Jimmy upgrade help - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-03-2009, 06:18 PM Thread Starter

Exclamation 2005 GMC Jimmy upgrade help

Hey guys! im new to this and the offroad communite.. i live in med western ontario and offraoding has really takin off with my generation.. there are a few guys out there that have the full rig but im just starting out.... I bought a 2005 GMC 2door jimmy this fall(unfountinatly not the ZR2 series but i got a good deal on it) and have takin it to the trails a quite a few times and only been stuck a handfull of times (mostly due to my stock tires)... but to the point, i was wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions on upgrades i should be looking into to make my jimmy for durable and better on the trails... i know i need better tires but first comes the lift... anyone know were i can shop for a good lift online? its hard to find one that matches up to my modle bc 2005 was only realeased in canada and only in 2door and the last year of the jimmys.... any advise on jimmys or blazers period would be great.... thanks again guys, iv really enjoyed reading up on some of your projects. hopefully mine will work out good...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-19-2009, 05:07 PM
Journeyman

Thumbs up Jimmy Help

What's up?, as far as tires goes, the BF Goodrich would be a good start!. You can upgrade the stock tire size to BFG all terrains for street oriented driving or to mud terrains if you go off road a lot; you could also fit a 30" tire on the stock vehicle, but it may rub. If all your looking for is added clearance you can add a 2" or 3" body lift from performance accessories. If you need or want a suspension lift there are a couple of options:
--Superlift Suspension Company - makes a 6" lift kit (33" tires)