fuel filter? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-30-2004, 12:34 PM
cam62

fuel filter?

trying to get some better milage and do some routine stuff on the 2000 sonoma. I have the fuel filter and found where it is at on the rail any tricks to getting it changed? On my ford there is a special sleeve to undo the clip but this one is differant. Also I am not having any luck changing the driver center plug since the stering shaft is smack in the way. I have swivels and most of them were pretty easy from the wheel well but this one is a puzzle.

Thanks for any help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-01-2004, 04:33 PM
84S_10Blazer

Re: fuel filter?

I'm a GM mechanic and have dealt with the fuel filters on the Sonomas pleny of times. It's a pain to get off but you can do it. Just disconnect the couplers and use LOTS of force to get the old filter off, then use a little bit of oil or great and rub it around the new filter to slide it onto the bracket.

P.S. I forgot to mention, the disconnects WILL be a pain to get off because at my dealership we use a J-Tool to get them off, for you I would recommend a bent plier or small screwdriver and lots of cursing to disconnect it.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-02-2004, 08:11 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

he's right a lot of cussin always helps when workin on vehicles. if cussin sends you to hell, buddy i got a first class ticket staight there. [img]images/graemlins/cussing.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 06-02-2004, 08:39 AM
cam62

Thanks for the info i was mostly concerned with the fiting removal that looks like a pushon fitting. How the plastic clip works.

post #5 of (permalink) Old 06-02-2004, 03:10 PM
84S_10Blazer

Dont worry about the plastic fittings, once you get the old one off the new ones will snap right in. Hope this helps.