How many SFA guys are runnin around here? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-21-2002, 01:20 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

How many SFA guys are runnin around here?

Just curious as to who has what, pics are always welcome, I dig seein other peoples rides, anyone still thinkin about doin an SFA? Lets see yo rides!!!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-21-2002, 08:02 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: How many SFA guys are runnin around here?

I'm not SFA yet, but I will be by the end of the Winter.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-21-2002, 11:55 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I'm really new to this 4x4'ing world. What is SFA? What is the difference between SFA and IFS? Don't mean to sound stupid, just a little ignorant of this terminology.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 06-23-2002, 06:19 PM

Don't worry, everyone lacks knowledge about something, and gains it later on!

SFA = Solid Front Axle.
One solid axle suspended by front leaf springs or other kooky suspension setups. When the axle moves one side is directly affected by the other.

IFS = Independent Front Suspension.
Very short solid front axle, but with two smaller axle shafts at the end that move up and down to articulate. The shafts are held and helped with control arms on the upper and lower side of each wheel in the front. The suspension is generally torsion bar but could be coil sprung or ???. Each side is indpendent of the other.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 06-23-2002, 10:45 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Thanks, now I know. Does SFA provide better stability when off-roading? Why would you want to change your setup if you have IFS to SFA and vice versa? Is this a real pricey conversion if you decide to go that way?

Let me know, thanks.

92blazer
post #6 of (permalink) Old 06-23-2002, 11:37 PM

Honestly it all depends on the type of terrain you're running.