New to 4 wheelin - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
GM Small Trucks & SUV's All discussion of S-Class Trucks and SUV's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-30-2002, 06:40 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

New to 4 wheelin

Ok, so im relatively new to the 4 wheelin scene, but im really interested in it. I have an 86 GMC jimmy s15, with the weak [censored] 2.8l engine, i want to make this suv a pretty good 4 wheeler, without spending my entire bank account. I want to put the 4.3L vortec in, can this be done with the stock tranny? or what would i have to do. Basically anyone who could give me some info on fixin my truck up a lil bit would be extra helpful. THANKS!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-30-2002, 07:24 PM

Re: New to 4 wheelin

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Would have to change your stock transmission. You'd have to change the entire engine wiring harness and all wiring for the computer. Do you want to go with a manual or automatic? 3, 4 or 5 speed?

What sort of off roading do you do? Depending on what kind you do, doing a solid front axle swap rather than engine/tranny swap might be more cost effective in getting a good wheeler. </font>
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-30-2002, 08:30 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I think the '86s ran with a 700R4 if the newbie has a 4 speed auto. my 88 as one, and my 83 had one too. If I were you, I'd save some grief with the electrical and stuff and drop in a 3.4 out of a V6 camaro. it's a straight drop in. My uncle's other nephew (his wife's side of the family, no relation to me) did that with his old S10 and I took the 2.8 for my Jimmy until the trans died on it again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-31-2002, 02:15 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

i drove a 3.4 and 4.3 and the power was a little varied going with the 4.3 but the 3.4 runs smooth and it does have power. save the $$$ on the tranny and harness go with the 3.4 and workon the rest of the truck
Sponsored Links