Will only a pitman arm fix my toe in/out? lifted 89 ford f250 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford Lounge General discussions and Frequently Asked Questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 09:20 PM Thread Starter

Will only a pitman arm fix my toe in/out? lifted 89 ford f250

sorry for the double post, but i posted this in the ford section and i havent gotten anything, and i kind of need this info asap

ok so as the subject says i bought an 89 f250 with a 3" lift.

i purchased this truck for my landscaping business and i know nothing about the necessary parts for lifting trucks and what those parts do. i have been driving it for about 2 years with it riding on the outside edges of the front tires and they're starting to get pretty worn down. the tires look like this from the front view \---/ with the "/" being the tires lol. it isnt that bad but im sure you catch my drift. from what i understand, my dilemma is the toe in and out on the front wheels.

from my research, a dropdown pitman arm wasnt installed. i bought a replacement (found here: JC Whitney ) and when i compared the 2 arms under the truck side by side, i see that i was correct in that a dropdown pitman arm wasnt installed when it was lifted.

my question is this. is the dropdown pitman arm all i need to fix the issue with the front wheels toe in and toe out? or is something else necessary to flatten the wheels out.

i can take pictures if necessary because like i said i dont know anything about what parts are needed to lift the truck. im trying to fix the problem myself so i can save some money

thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-29-2009, 08:41 AM
Addict