which EB should I look for to buy? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford Early Bronco, 66-77 All discussion of Early Ford Bronco's to 1977

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-09-2001, 01:17 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

which EB should I look for to buy?

I'm brand new to the early bronco scene, but not to wheelin'. I haven't seen too many '66-'77 broncos around here so I'd like some advise on what to look for and what some of the differences were between the years. Are some more easily modified than others? What are some popular engine/tranny/t-case conversions? Any info would be helpful, otherwise I'm off into the Jeep world.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 12:34 PM
Mud in my Veins

Re: which EB should I look for to buy?

I'd look for one with fuel doors (76-77) instead of caps sticking out - I think they look better, and they have front discs and generally better running gear - of course, they're more expensive for those reasons and because they're the newest. But they use most of the common repro parts, unlike the REALLY early ones (66-?68). I built a 75 you can see at webphotos by entering "steve" in the "Email/Nickname" field and selecting the "75 Bronco Redesign" album, and the main thing that annoys me about how it turned out is the fact that the fuel caps are exposed. (Other than that, it's PERFECT![img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/laugh.gif[/img])

The Dana30 front end is to be avoided, as are automatics (because the steering columns are crappy), non-electric wipers, and rusty door posts (they're SUPER expensive to fix right).