Early Bronco Fuel Injection. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford Early Bronco, 66-77 All discussion of Early Ford Bronco's to 1977

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-26-2000, 08:25 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Early Bronco Fuel Injection.

In a previous post, I asked the question about an economic fuel injection system. I have found the solution to my question. Go to:
http://home.att.net/~jweir/tbi/main_start.htm
This board has a lot of useful info about the swap.
I was able to grab the harness, TBI, sensors, etc. from an 89 chevy 1500 with the 350 engine. I purchased these parts at the local "recycler" for $350. The operation is now complete after 2 weeks of R&D and cursing the spagetti wiring. I have spent a little over $500 and now have a sweet setup. If you don't want the brain-damage you can spend $1200 and get a Turbo-City or Howell kit, but it just isn't the same, is it? I am no expert electrition (or speller), just love to tinker.
Here is what was extra:
I had to get a magnetic pickup distributor from a late model 302 and swapped in the parts to my points distributor (because the shaft size was different)
I had to purchase the TBI-to-intake adapter from Turbo City ($40) and a new fuel pump, several feet of Fuel Injection hose, and an electric solonoid (sp) for the dual tank switching. It starts and runs like a dream. I haven't needed to re-program the ECM. It runs much better than the 4bbl Carter that I had last.
Now I can climb any hill and don't have to worry about flooding out.
If you have any questions or are interested in the swap, contact me at [email protected]
or post here!
Curtis

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-26-2000, 10:37 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Early Bronco Fuel Injection.