Ball Joint update - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-12-2001, 11:24 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Ball Joint update

What a job! A simple task turned nightmare. I have changed a lot of ball joints in my life, I was a mechanic in the army for four years, worked on hummers, 2.5 - 5 ton trucks and a lot of different tanks. I have never experienced anything like I did this weekend. 15 year old ball joints SUCK! First of all, the nut on the lower ball joint, broke my Craftsman ratchet with a cheater bar on it, didn't budge. No problem, I run to sears, exchange ratchet and buy 1/2" drive breaker bar. Oh yeah, all along I was applying heat from a propane torch. Get home, use breaker bar and 3 foot cheater bar..............Boom, something breaks, its not the nut but the edges on the nut. OK, now I move on to acetylene, get the joint glowing red hot and get the nut off. Not too big a deal. Both balljoint nuts removed, I keep remembering what the manual said, watch the knuckle, it will fall right off on your toe. I WISH. Knucke will not budge, sledge hammer, will not budge, oxy-acetylene and sledge, will not budge, at this point the grease in the ball joints is boiling and the boots are on fire. Finally, a pickle fork between the nuckle and axle gets it to drop. The holes in the axle were deposited with metal from the years the ball joints spent in there, in othere words, the joints were welded in place. After that, the job was a breeze and everthing went together quickly. The ball joints came out and went in easily with a ball joint press and air impact, man I love air power tools! All and all, it was a simple job turned night mare by 15 year old parts. The lesson learned? Be harder on your vehicle so you are forced to replace parts regularly, that way they wont be "welded" in place. hehe

Sponsored Links
Advertisement