Here's my rear axle #'s - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 02:00 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Here\'s my rear axle #\'s

Alright guys, I guess I am stupid. I have been looking through old posts (up to the last 46 pages) and I have pulled axle codes and everything else. I cannot figure out what size my axle is. I know I have low gears, running about 3 grand at 65 MPH with 32"tires, and I am an engineer but too lazy to do the calculations. I am holding my rear axle tag in my hand, here is exactly the way the numbers are printed:

S318D
3 50 9 6G17

What the hell does this mean?????????

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 02:07 AM
Mud in my Veins

Re: Here\'s my rear axle #\'s

The first 4 digits of the second line are the ratio and diff type. Yours has a 3.50 gear set, and an open diff. If it was limited slip, it would say "3L50...". The other digits are build, brake, date, and option codes, but the "9" in the 6th position on the second line may mean it's a 9"; are there studs with nuts facing forward?

Steve
83 Custom w/95 4.9L EFI, 78 NP435, 83 NP208, 83 D44IFS 3.07, 87 Ford 8.8ABS 3.08, Michelin LTX AT 31x10.50R15
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 12:42 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Thanks Steve. All along the damn numbers were right in front of my nose. Yes it is a 9", I have had it out before. I thought it had a 4.1 in it. Kinda wish it did now. I don't know a lot about rear ends but the guy I took it to when I had it checked out said it was a heavy duty 9", said it how 4 spider gears. Does that make any sense?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 02:32 PM
Mud in my Veins

All diffs have 4 gears in the carrier - 1 on each axle & 2 on the cross shaft. If this guy thinks that makes it HD, look for someone else to work on it!