F-250 vs minivan. Ford questions. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-06-2001, 01:40 AM Thread Starter

F-250 vs minivan. Ford questions.

Hey guys,
This is my first time posting to the Ford forum. The reason I'm here is because about a week ago my father was rearended in his '94 F-250 extra cab 4x4 with an 8 ft bed by a Mazda minivan. Upon impact the front buckets broke (the latch that holds the back of the seat in the set postion broke) and my father (6'6" tall) smashed his head into the back window and my mother (in the passenger seat) also suffered severe whiplash as well as back pains. Do you know if this is a problem with Ford? I really think there must be a design flaw for the seats to break like that, my father had to shove milk crates behind the front seats to drive the truck home. Was there ever a recall on these like the ignition switches in the '80's that caused all the car fires? Also, the frame bent as well. I believe the blue book on the truck is a lil over 10K, do you think the truck will be totalled? The bed and rear bumper is twisted as well. I'm just looking for any info I can pass along to my parents. Also anyone who would be like to see a pic of the damage can e-mail as well. I'd post it here but I cant get the filesize small enough. Thanks in advance.

Nick

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-06-2001, 06:27 AM

Re: F-250 vs minivan. Ford questions.

Nick

I have seen a super long list of recalll items, but don't remember where.

Malcolm

post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-06-2001, 06:51 AM
dawgghanson

Same thing happened in our 86 aerostar when rear ended...both front seat back broke at the hinges...it is common; and here is the recall site for their f 250:http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/recalls/mmy.cfm
no mention of this prob.