Flowmaster Schmomaster - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-18-2000, 01:01 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Flowmaster Schmomaster

I got my Flowmaster series 50 in from Summit on Friday. I pulled the stock muffler out and basically destroyed it in the process. I try to fit up the Flowmaster and... I don't think so. Not only was it too fat, but the off-sets were not even close. There is no way to make it work. So I was a little pissed. It's the part number that Flowmaster's web page said would fit my Bronco. I have a 1996, 351, with 2.5 inch pipe. The number it called for is 52557 and that's what I have. This isn't the first time that Flowmaster's application guide proved to be worthless for me. I ordered a set for my dad's Corvette and the offsets were wrong and we had to send them back to get the right offset.

Right now I'm not running a muffler, just the cats. It actually sounds really good like that. I was thinking about just installing a small turbo muffler or maybe even a glass pack to knock down the interior noise. Just thought I'd let you guys know how much fun I had over the weekend. Any comments/suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-18-2000, 05:36 PM

Re: Flowmaster Schmomaster

Thump

Sounds like you had yourself a case of of what used to be called "mail order blues". I had the same problem from Jacobs last Spring. Went to the trouble and expense of ordering an extra long 26" coil wire from Jacobs and the cretans packed a 26" plug wire with the wrong terminal end for the coil. In fairness they did send me an alternator pulley I neither ordered or wanted, with it.