4 wheel drive? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 08:41 PM
mikey v

4 wheel drive?

hey guys i finally got my '79 bronco up and running but i have a question how do i use the 4 wheel drive on it. Let me give you some deatils...its a automatic but with a shifter on the floor for the 4 wheel drive. i know that i have to trun my front hubs to lock but after that im lost if any one can tell me how to shift in to 4 wheel drive it would be greatly appreciated and also what does 4L,2H and 4H mean and witch is the one i want to use when i 4 whell drive(let me remind you im very very new at all this)
thanks alot
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 09:39 PM
curtcon

Re: 4 wheel drive?

Well if its the same as my 82 ford witch I'm shure it is. Leave the truck in park pull the leaver back you should feel like a click or clunck somthing like that then put the truck in reverse and back up just a little and then drive and drive up a little you should here a cluck or even feel it engage. When you are driving you should here a humming noise.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-02-2005, 03:49 AM

2h= 2 high this is what you want for 2wheel drive.
4h= 4 high this is 4wheeldrive high which is the same gear range as 2hi but 4wheeldrive instead. DO NOT use 4-wheel drive on dry pavment as this can cause you lots of problems.